The Secret to Managing Change

Standard

I have dealt with many different changes in the last three years even if they weren’t major changes I still had to adjust.  Having to move place to place because of the military is always a huge adjustment.  I learned that the only way to get through change is to take it day by day, accept the adjustment and move forward.  He mentioned in the video, “Change is something within us,” we must want to accept changes and adjust to whatever comes our way.  If we are able to transition then we will always be able to accept change.  Another way to impose change upon us would be to look at our values and see what really is important to us; we control our own change majority of the time.

Sometimes we can’t control change; things may happen that we are forced to accept even if we don’t approve of it.  But we can sometimes initiate change when we aren’t making the right choices in life or if our life isn’t going the way we planned.  We will have to make many changes and focus on activities that will lead me to the right path.  My mother recently got ill and I had to change my life and adjust my focus towards her needs.  The change did throw me off track but I had to accept the problems and keep my focus on what was ahead of us.

The entire video got my attention, he made me really think twice about my values and what is really acceptable and what isn’t.  I even wrote down some of my values to see if I could change or adjust anything that would make my life a little better.

About cindyarevalo2

Hey... I'm originally from Texas... Moved to Alaska back in October of 2010. So far it has been one awesome experience just love it here. I love to play tennis and stay active as mush as possible. I have a son who is 10 months his name is Nathaniel or Nate.

One response »

  1. My sister is talking care of our elderly mother and I know what a challenge it is for her, so feel for your circumstances. I think you have the right attitude about things – learning to accept and adapt – otherwise you just make yourself miserable. Focus on the benefits of the situation, regardless of how small they might seem, and they’ll grow.

    (Did you know there’s a type of bamboo you have to water for 5 years before it spouts? Talk about patience! There’s a book called Water Your Bamboo, by a friend of mine Greg Bell. You might want to check it out. He has a website you can google too.)

Leave a comment