Organization Structures

Standard

The organization chart that I drew out is the Division Organizational chart.  I previously worked for Lowes and this is how we were split up by zones and departments. These charts are very helpful in a variety of ways and useful on a daily basis.  The article states the advantage of this structure, “It allows the divisions to focus on producing the specialized products for that area while still using knowledge gained from different but related divisions.”   At this company we used the chart to organize the different departments and help us figure out who were the leaders of each zone/department.  It was useful to the customer service department, because if any customer needed help they were able to glance at the chart and know exactly who they needed to call.

One day I hope to open a day spa and salon these types of organizational charts will come in handy.  The Functional Organizational structure would be something I could use towards organizing each employee by their specific job/duty at the spa/salon.  This structure will help me control my management system by each section of the spa/salon.  Having an organization structure like this will help us all control our own conflicts within our teams and the decision making is centralized within your own area. We minimize conflict and everyone still feels some type of independence.

About cindyarevalo2

Hey... I'm originally from Texas... Moved to Alaska back in October of 2010. So far it has been one awesome experience just love it here. I love to play tennis and stay active as mush as possible. I have a son who is 10 months his name is Nathaniel or Nate.

One response »

  1. Cindy – I could use a day at the spa right now. Wish you were open! Thanks for the info on Lowes. I have a friend who used to be HR Manager at Home Depot and she used to tell me all about how things worked there. Its an interesting industry – box store/lumber yard combos.

Leave a comment