Deborah Garrett VP of HR at Intuit

Standard

If I was looking towards an HR degree, this would be the perfect job to gain so much experience from. I would be able to work in a different work environment, help manage a team and encourage change among my fellow employees.  I would also get the chance to move around place to place and experience the different surroundings.  I will also gain a network of clients for my future and meet many different people from all over the world while traveling.  Intuit is one of the best companies to work for in the United States, and has a great reputation.  This does seem like a great company to work for, but this position wouldn’t fit my personnel preference.  My major is focused on Marketing, if this position was focused on marketing the company or promoting the products then I would apply.
HR policies play a major role in our behavior while at work.  HR policies make up the rules and regulations while and during any work function.  When people are giving a minimal amount of rules they are more likely to be laid back and stress free, because they aren’t worried about breaking one of the policies.  When our HR’s have strict policies it usually leads to higher stress levels at work, low performance scores and people always leaving the job due to their policies.
HR managers usually have the final say when choosing the right candidate for the job; I think managers should have more control on choosing who will be working side by side with the team.  It makes it easier for the manager to choose somebody that will be just right for the job since they are familiar with the position and familiar with the other workers.  It is always best to pick someone that will fit right in and the manager will have a better idea of who would be right.

About cindyarevalo2

Hey... I'm originally from Texas... Moved to Alaska back in October of 2010. So far it has been one awesome experience just love it here. I love to play tennis and stay active as mush as possible. I have a son who is 10 months his name is Nathaniel or Nate.

3 responses »

  1. I like how you outlined all the things HR helps contribute to an organization. Although they definitely can benefit the hiring process and working with staff in general, I agree 100% with you that it should be up to management discretion and they should exercise the control of the process.

  2. I think you made a good point about HR’s roll in choosing the right candidate for the job. In the video Garrett did talk about being in charge of the talent, but it isn’t what stood out to me the most in the video. My office does not have an HR department and instead my boss has the employees do a group interview process with the prospective hire. (We are a very small office). After sitting in on a few interviews I realized that I have no idea what to look for in a potential employee. For this reason, I don’t think that an HR career is in my future, but I can certainly see where they are useful.

  3. HR and Marketing work together a lot when promoting the employer to prospective employees (recruiting new grads) and promoting/communicating benefit plan information. Both deal with influencing others behaviors. I think its a fun combination and would love to work more in marketing.

Leave a comment